Weigh-in #4 — Scales are confusing

Before I announce my weight, I’d just like to have a brief rant about my scale.

For whatever reason, I usually weigh myself on both Monday and Tuesday. As I have pointed out before, there’s usually a discrepancy between the two dates, and I’ll usually average the two weights.

I approached weighing in the same way this week, but things were really confusing.

When I weighed in Monday morning, I was pleasantly surprised to see 173.5 on the scale (a rough estimate, since I have a dial scale). I went about my day without any worries.

This morning when I woke up I headed to the bathroom, used it, then pulled out the scale to weigh. It said 175. It wasn’t really that heartbreaking for me, more just confusing because it didn’t make any sense, especially considering how little I had to eat yesterday.

So I went ahead and got dressed and checked my email, blew my nose a couple of times, and then thought about the weigh-in some more. It just bothered me. It didn’t make any sense, so I went to weigh in again.

I even brought Anthony in to help me read the scale (I have bad eyes and the lines are small). He confirmed it at 171.5.

So, within roughly 24 hours, I have three measurements. 171.5, 173.5, and 175.

I don’t really understand how that’s possible, and I don’t understand why waiting five minutes (I did nothing but blow my nose — I didn’t even have any water) makes a three and a half pound difference.

I talked to Pam and she suggested that I average the three weights, so that’s what I did. Here’s my current weight as-derived.


(173 lbs)

Admittedly, I like 171.5 better, because that puts me a lot closer to having lost 15 lbs. but oh well. Baby steps, Ellie. 😀

Does anyone have an explanation for the weird discrepancies in weight? Or any thoughts as to why five minutes would make an almost-four pound difference? I’d like Suzie’s take on this, if she happens to see me.

Posted on February 1, 2011, in Goals, weigh-in and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Your weight will fluctuate throughout the day, depending on water retention, the food you’ve eaten, and even how heavy your clothes are. I recommend weighing yourself 1x a week at the same time naked (that’s what I do!) for consistency. There are some people who even argue that people go through a weekly cycle, where they are always lighter on one day (say Mondays) than another (say Tuesdays).

    • Interesting. Yeah, I am always naked when I weigh myself ( I meant to put in that I had gotten dressed, but was so confused by the weigh-in that I got completely undressed and did it again — only to be four pounds lighter).

    • PS: This is also why I measure inches and body fat % to compliment my weight, because even when I lost .7lbs in a week I still lost in those two other categories. 🙂

    • Danko. I don’t think I was clear before, so let me try again.

      I was clotheless all three times I weighed myself. It was/is so strange. It doesn’t make sense for there to be a four pound difference after five mintues…

      • One weird thing that my Dad taught me is to shift the scale just a bit from its original spot on the floor every time you weigh yourself, because if a scale is in the same spot (and if it’s not a digital scale) the balances can get screwed up from daily use (not entirely sure why). I honestly don’t know what to tell you though. 😦

  2. Part of it may also be your scale. Don’t fret too much about the little details: if we worked in base six like the Mayans did, 12 lbs would be an initial goal, rather than 15 lbs.

Leave a Reply

