Continuing onward!

I’ve made some pretty fantastic improvements to my life in the last 10 months. The last time I was posting consistently here, I knew I was needing and ready to take it to the next level — to really go hard on my fitness and strength. I just wasn’t really sure the best way to do that. Or, rather, I knew a good way to do it, I just did not have the means to do so.

And I still don’t, really.

I disappeared for the past month and a half or so because I was putting a lot of things on hold. I kept saying “after I get a job, I’ll do xyz.” Ah, but alas, job did not happen. When I found out about this, I spent the past week or so pondering what I wanted to do next. It really didn’t occur to me that I had been waiting on so much stuff until I was turned down for the position and suddenly… I felt like Wiley Coyote in those few seconds as he hovers before falling down into the ravine.

Anywho, after some pondering, discussing with Anthony, and some time away (my brother got married!!!), I’ve returned feeling refreshed, positive, and ready to move my life to the next level, regardless as to whether I’m being paid for it or not.

As far as my fitness goes, this means making an effort to cross something off my bucket list!

Complete a 5k

That’s right, my friends. It’s time for Gina to start running again.

Why running? Well… largely because it’s free, BUT, I am still somewhat bitter from my first attempt to run which was quickly toppled by my knee injury. This is also going to be targeting my general fitness, which I would like to improve upon.

Also, I found a really neat 5k that I would like to run:

That’s right, my friends! I’m going to run 3 miles, dodge some obstacle courses, and get chased by zombies! It’s going to be fun. Anthony and I are gonna run it together, along with some friends.

Speaking of Anthony, I am going to start my training by jogging to work with him. He does some kind of interval thing and he made it to work (1.9 miles) in a little under 10 minutes today!! Clearly, I have a long way to go. But after I feel like I’ve got just the running part down, I’m going to try and do some terrain running and maybe throw in some obstacles of my own! We shall see.

So, I’m excited about that.

Other goals

One of the things that I was putting off as I was waiting for the job to come through or fall through was building a website for myself. I have been toying around with the idea of doing freelance web design for some time now, and I am going to spend my time, amidst “real” job hunting, building myself a portfolio. I have a few spaces that I can work with (in no particular order):

  • thoughtsonliberty.com
  • biomancy.com
  • clichegames.com (potentially)
  • valuttrell.com (potentially)

I would like to build myself a site, ultimately, but at the moment I need a more consistent income to purchase the domain and get hosting. VALuttrell.com would be the last of my projects, and one I would build when I am “ready to get serious” about freelance design.

Anthony has promised to support me, either by art classes or by getting me a better desk and chair. I am not sure what we have decided on yet, BUT, I would be/ am excited for either.

As for right this moment, I need to unpack from the wedding this weekend. I am so full of love!

Posted on November 6, 2011, in Fitness, Goals. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. That’s great to hear! I actually just started on the Couch to 5k program, so hopefully, come March, I’ll be able to join you guys! 🙂

    I started taking Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu and Kickboxing at a local MMA gym recently, but I realize that my endurance is a whole lot better after I’ve gotten in the habit of running around for a bit during the week. Since my job involves sitting at a computer all day, I figure it’s a much-needed supplement to my exercise plan.

    If you care to boost your job prospects, learning a bit about current web frameworks and learning a language like PHP or Ruby will take you a long way. I know for certain that my company has many designers on teams who are only marginally proficient at it. Having some programming knowledge will definitely set you apart from the crowd when coming up with a portfolio.

    If you want to see a great example of a portfolio and genuine all-around site, I recommend the website of my old Taido sensei Andy Fossett. He’s a great guy to hang around, and it looks like he’s been doing pretty well freelancing at this point. His site is a bit off-the-wall, but it definitely sets him apart from a business perspective: http://andyfossett.com/

    I wish you all the best, we definitely have to hang out again. Glad to hear things are looking up!

    • Hell yes! Enrique, we need you to survive the Zombie Apocalypse!

      I actually am planning on picking up Anthony’s “PHP in a nutshell” book and going through that. I’ve actually built a couple of wordpress themes before, so I’ve done a LITTLE PHP, but not a whole lot — and I would like to get better at it.

      Thanks for the website! I was looking for a good example. And yes, we do need to hang out again. Are you still in Atlanta/around Tech? Anthony and I are in midtown (next to the Fox!). Maybe we could go for a jog sometime. 😀

Leave a Reply

