New Years…stuff

Anthony’s asleep on the couch in front of me, and this is the first few moments I’ve had to really sit, by myself, and do some good solid reflecting.

In case you haven’t heard, I am leaving Atlanta. I have been offered an exciting new job in Philadelphia, PA, and I am moving there, well,tomorrow.

All of my stuff is packed up — even my desktop (I am currently on my hand-me-down laptop). I’ve emptied a lot of myself from the apartment that Anthony and I have shared the last four months. We drive up with a Uhaul full of my stuff as early as we can tomorrow. And then, for me, it’s off to a new world. The frigid, “godless” north.

Very often I feel a sense of trepidation and ultra-stress at events like these. When I went to Chicago this summer, I felt so nervous at the prospect that SOMETHING MIGHT GO WRONG that I was almost crippled with fear. I remember standing in the train station on the phone with Anthony, tearing up because I was so afraid, and I just knew something bad was going to happen.

Obviously, it didn’t.

Today, I am nervous, but not terrified. It helps a lot that Anthony will be coming up with me and helping me find a place. But as of right now, I don’t have an apartment. That is kind of nerve-wracking. But I feel okay about it. I feel like everything is going to work out.

So instead of being super-obsessed about moving and stressing about a new life, I have had time to do some thinking.

This time last year, I was making a change in my life. A big change. I utterly transformed the way I eat, the way I see food, exercise, and, in a lot of ways, how I see myself. Though I often struggle, and have struggled, and I am still not done, I have to take a moment and realize just how far I’ve come.

Though I tossed out my scale in September, I have no doubts that I reached my goal of losing 50 pounds in a year. I probably hit it towards the end of October. Even if I didn’t hit the number, I was leaner, meaner, and fitter than I had ever been in my life.

So, because of that, I am officially closing my goal of losing 50 pounds in a year. That also means the end of this blog. At least as a separate entity.  I am still keeping with paleo, and I still am going to work on my physical fitness as I get more integrated into Philadelphia. And there will still be chronicling of food issues and my struggle to beat my food addiction. But just not here. This chapter in my story is over, and I am happy to be moving forward.

I will post in a bit about where to find chronicles of my next adventures, as soon as I know about them.

Posted on January 1, 2012, in Feelings, Goals and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment